Day 8 – Her, Watching

September 8, 2009

Day 8

4:45 pm  – 5:49 pm

Her, Watching

Sitting right in

Front of me

There just a minute ago

They were laughing

And play-fighting

With their gadgets

Or so it seemed to be

The simple stuff

Of melodramatic love

Just sitting

And playing a

Tug of war of sorts

It seemed harmless

Just a little demonstrative

The way young love

Can ignore where it is

On a tiny couch

Right next to the

Front door and long line

Of a cafe in

Broad daylight

I ended up

Paying attention

More than I should

But now she is crying

So now I feel justified

In my witnessing and

What my looks offer up

Support in case

You need it, dear

Or do they penetrate

An unwelcome space

On that plush couch next

To your empty coffee cup

And crumpled napkins

Sometimes it is hard to tell

If i am interference

Or a sort of good energy

A kind spell, so I wish

But there likely

Are not many

Who see it that way

When they are in the midst

Of accepting jabs

To the point

Where it doesn’t matter

That their noise

Silenced everyone

Around them

Those who

Listen often try to

Carve circles in the floor

With their eyes as if not

Much is really happening

In the busy space

Encroaching theirs

But what do we do

Walk by, look

Or stop

Inquire

And just let her know

Someone else does

See what’s happening

Like the neighbor’s ruckus

Some many months ago

Noise that turned to me wondering

When it became yelling that turned

To me running a few houses down

When it became screaming

Or worse

All those times

I heard what

Seemed like patience

Holding me through

Indiscernible noise

That quieted

So I never turned around

Even if I am

Not quite sure

What is happening

A gut feeling surfaces

I should let you know

In some way

I see something

Here

is a matter

I should

take heed

Or take note

Just note this

Or let me know

No.  Now You

Look embarrassed

That is not at all

What I was going after

If anything

He should

Watch me watching

But now

It feels like

She is rushing

Purposeful

In a brisk clean-up

Of their trash

He isn’t helping

She just rushed off

Keeping her eyeshot

Away from my glances

As if she thinks I think

She

Is the one who shouldn’t

Cause a scene

traci kato-kiriyama

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

