Day 29 – i ate my fingers

Tuesday, September 29, 2009
Day 29
12:50 am – 1:50 am

i ate my fingers

Eating fried chicken wings
at my grandma’s house
was a wonderfully salty
greasy experience

Lost in sniffing
at the chicken skin
I remember holding
the ends tightly

Making use
of my middle fingers,
and pushing meat
through the bone

My grandmother told me
to slow down, how
my focus made her want
to eat oily chicken

I was lost in the act
of ravenous consumption
Was there any other
way to eat?

In high school I liked
chocolate cupcakes with
whipped cream in the middle,
chemical as they were

After lunch was over
I could, for some reason,
sit in government class
and keep eating

Either before or after
the lecture began
there I was a dedicated
student of edible indulgence

The big football player guy
who sat next to me told me
it looked so gross,
the way i ate

I’d look down at cake-covered
fingers, awoken to the
realization I was lost again
in crazed, carefree feeding

Today, I was at the cusp
of edginess in anticipation
of how much time I had until
the next given meal

There I was stuck at 4:00
knowing we would
not be fed for another
two and a half hours

Ran to the store and delighted
for a moment in my car
inhaling an avocado roll
and then another

There she was, miss Thing
lovely as three cupcakes
or a bowl of chicken wings
saying Excuse me

I was mid-chew when she said
the way I ate looked hot, she said Hot.
I mused on grandma, high school,
and a sense of redemption

traci kato-kiriyama

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

One response to “Day 29 – i ate my fingers

  • soulinmyfist

    i love how this piece ends with “a sense of redemption.” the chronological progression of this piece is so fitting, it builds up beautifully to the end. i can’t help but smile at your gluttony heh

Leave a Reply

