Day 57 – birth (signaling)

Tuesday, October 27, 2009
Day 57
12:36 am – 1:36 am

birth

36

Thirty Six

Thank goodness
for the word

Sex

i am now enjoying the way

36

sounds

When will age ever stop being a new thing for me
This is all new for me

The wrinkles and spots
I swore would never phase me
are staring at me now
with an awfully attractive gaze
because I can’t take my eyes off them

I pat them down,
caress them, and treat them well
with puzzling creams and balms
some convincing woman convinced me of,
because they seem to need great attention

My Bachan often told me without saying
that deep lines mean incredible
experience in time, pain, and
of course laughter, and of course,
I want to believe, moreover live, her

I want to keep those words with me
as I feel the constant motion
of change inside me and for those
around me who, in staid moments,
reveal they are thinking the same thing

We endeavor as we keep to trading lines of
wisdom from our grandmothers songs
in exchange for feeling, beyond theory,
the words we know ring true in our hearts
but seem less attractive in our mirrors

We want to realize the stories we try to live up to

And I am quite convinced we will
At the very least, I trust we listen in earnest to
old stories upon story upon hope upon dream
even if and while we might be waiting to hear
a new tale of the latest beauty secret

i often wonder where the earth,
where the universe,
really

IS

in any given moment of birth
of a breathing being

where
are
WE

do we feel the spark that shoots out
shouts
and cries
an introduction of its attendance
for the first time
in the initial moment?

where was
I
in my first moment?

totally beholden to bewilderment?

or,

signaling

announcing my time

and commanding some declaration of song

of presence
of a lifetime of experiment
of dreams, passion, love

where were you in that moment

of my signaling

traci kato-kiriyama

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

