Day 64 – Elegy for Kitti, pt. 1

Tuesday, November 3, 2009
Day 64
12:08 pm –

Elegy for Kitti, pt. 1

(months before)

little Champion
you are showing me
something neither of us
want to come to
me, practitioner of denial
you, master of disease

i wish i could ask you
to hang on
longer now that
this knowing will mean
the better part of me
conscious to your every day

there is no making up for time
passed with my absence or me
shut away in the back room
now we shall exist in nothing
but each day of you knowing
i do not want to leave

i hope to dream
and make a visit in yours
where we will speak the same
language, you will know my heart,
my apologies, my musing, and the
history of every invitation to this house

there is no part of my makeup
void of knowing the exact
scent, sound, and weight of you
nor is there any developed
ounce of me available to
comprehend your departure

i was not
never will be
ready to hear
what need be considered
What is to consider beyond
wishing you to stay with me forever?

traci kato-kiriyama

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

One response to “Day 64 – Elegy for Kitti, pt. 1

Leave a Reply

