Day 304 – in the leaves

Thursday, July 1, 2010
Day 304
9:49 pm

in the leaves

a teeny tiny hand
sticking out at the top
as I uncover the tin

I pinch the wee hand
with two fingers and
lift the little body out
of the tea leaves

her eyes are shut
she dreams with
a frown on her face

even in sleep
she pouts

What is wrong, my
earl grey pal?

I try to nudge her to
wake but she shakes
her head back at me
and points to my teacup

I tell her I want her
to open her eyes
when finally she says
she is not done
dreaming yet
she is waiting
for the water to boil
and
in the meantime

she is daytripping
with her tea leaf forest
friends

looking for her heart
so she may dust it off
and go back
to steeping again

tkk
(title from N)

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

One response to “Day 304 – in the leaves

  • eddlyhong

    traci! im gonna try to check out my fellow undeniables for this current session and chime in some thoughts and feedback.

    i like this quaint, tranquil atmosphere you convey through this poem and when I finsihed reading it, it gave me this cozy note that rang throughout me.

Leave a Reply

