Day 53 – Pulpit

Saturday, October 23, 2010
Day 53
12:25 pm

Pulpit

Every morning I pass
monuments to a god
I have never met and
take it as a given,
this is the way it is and
so shall be forever

Marquee scripture tries
to take a stab at the
passerby, whatever works,
humor, sentimentality,
threats, free coffee

The god people come to
wake me during wee hours
and have no idea they
already walked up
steps toward the sacred
when they knock at my door

Herein lies solace, where
I light incense for my
family on a bookshelf, give
offerings to an animal
kingdom in my backyard
and pittance of orange peel
and coffee grinds to
Dad’s old rose bushes
and the aging lemon tree

Herein come demons,
whose night shadows
have pinned me down to
my darkness, chest barely
able to debate with the
choking ghosts and I have
begged for forgiveness
and retreat from my
own walls, wherein a
resurrection came

Herein come spirits, who
have slayed dragons
across pages of poetry
I have both burned and
tried to share with the world,
therein stories have at times
been the only thing to
call itself a savior in good
conscience

Herein come angels, who
fill my home with choir,
organ, procession of potluck
and convocation of shoes
piled at the back door
We burn wood,
cackle songs and
lovingly wake the neighbors

With a dance, that
in another house would
be heathen,
here has always been
our haven

One day, I will head off
brochures at the pass
and invite the
mission merchants
to a jug of wine, but
they will have to adjust
their glasses, let go
of crosses and take off
their shoes before coming
inside

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

