Day 57 – how does a rainbow begin

Wednesday, October 27, 2010
Day 57
6:10 pm

how does a rainbow begin

once a cluster of butterflies ushered in a brilliant haze
despite the forsaking of the glistening webs in my
backyard

I regarded this as a window
…in to my own truth, we might contemplate rainbows
and the origins of sorrow
…in to my own triumphs, we may allow the study of
time I never made versus what was there for me,
all along
…in to my own wanderings, we shall make a mess of
excuses on days where backyard animals draw arrows
at being called stray

they certainly do not know the word feral
and why should they

it is just an excuse to walk past the body on the street
who desperately needed touch,
all along

if I walk on my thick, prickly grass, barefoot and unaware
of other guests, maybe I will be able to make moments
enough to wonder of
beginnings

…the way a possum tramples along the back wall so we
will never run in to the same puddle

…the way a seventy-three year old tree called me kid so
I would remember to enjoy his shade

…the way a farmer once filled his palms with splinters and
a plan, to have me spring through branches unannounced,
all along

like butterflies
like vegetation
like rainbows

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

