Day 60 – loyalty

Saturday, October 30, 2010
Day 60
10:39 pm

loyalty

“Come be with me, soothe my broken heart,
show me loyalty…”
– Meshell Ndegeocello

digging through trails that
drifted between my ears

I can’t seem to
remember a time
when I didn’t fear
the worst in a
relationship

catching looks and glances and
triggers, oh, those loaded guns

It was a sigh of
relief when it
actually happened,
if that makes any
kind of sense

mortar and concrete, a tiny
step ladder for the other side,
a honeycomb heart

As you stand there,
sometimes I boil
at what a simple man
you are
and then I see
the way you simply hold
my softness at your cheek,
with gratitude for whatever
it is you’re thinking when
you look at me

twirling the spin until it becomes
a big top underneath a hurricane
and I am nothing but a clown
running with my pants falling off

My foolishness,
my love,
my heart,
hold me with
that look I can feel
just by listening to your
voice,
understanding my fragility,
that it comes from a set of
maps carved out long before
you sought to etch a place
in my life,
that I am wildly strong and
full of history weighed by
the lightness of joy
and the darkness of
abandon,
and, oh, I will love you back

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

