Day 64 – the sound of no glass crashing

Wednesday, November 3, 2010
Day 64
12:01 am

the sound of no glass crashing

she couldn’t believe it when I thanked her for the set of goblets, not
due to my thankfulness but because I needed more for all the broken
ones that had long since paid my home a fleetingly fond farewell

I couldn’t believe her genuine response on how she never broke a glass
or dish or any otherwise breakable implement in her kitchen, her home,
not once, in her entire life, so we just stood and stared at each other

the one didn’t know what to make of the other for a moment, she looking
at me like I got yet another set of late bill notices and parking tickets, me
looking at a woman who seemed consumed by logical, placid nonsense

she soon shrugged it off, but I, still dumbfounded, stayed nailed to the floor,
witnessing her past, zooming as it was, before my eyes and all of a sudden
everything she ever or never said made perfect sense, all those times she

complained of being the lukewarm soup at the back of my father’s stove, for
being the recycled cooking oil he was embarrassed by, for losing her name
to become George’s Wife, my mother carefully lost her voice for his to rise

I imagined the earth to erupt in that moment, having us kneel, screaming
while the cupboards burst open, every last dish and bowl and platter and
cup flying at our heads, crashing with a furious delight in front of us

I wished myself to take her hold of her hand, wrapping her fingers around
a flute to bang it against the sink and if I could think faster I would have
thought to do it right then, in that moment, but it was gone and she had

moved on, methodically washing each glass, setting them down to dry
for a few seconds before handling a thin towel around the inside, outside,
the neck, the base, then on to the shelf, silently, not a peep, not a sound

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

One response to “Day 64 – the sound of no glass crashing

  • awesomepie

    Thanks again, Traci. I still feel creatively revitalized after the generous invitation to join you and Allan. And, damn, just the fact that you’ve been able to keep up with these daily posts is an inspiration.

Leave a Reply

