Day 70 – Ready

Tuesday, November 9, 2010
Day 70
11:38 pm

Ready

Dearest My Heart,

How would I have known,
and the better question being
would I have done anything different
when I was seven, in making plans to
fall in love again and again through the
next three decades?

lies, co-dependence, fantasies, shock
the wow of the unknown, the dying to explore

Would I have cut the boat loose
before it had the chance to sail
through my heart and open up
a window in to my wayward soul?

our polyamory, our team, our defeat, the
way of it as natural as it was unsustainable

Would I have hid behind the waterfall
just to escape slipping at the deep
end of a rushing river into a vastness
you can never view without actually
existing in its center?

his promise, his anger, his triumph,
her pride, her fears, her isolation,
our length, our brevity, our openness
the truest romance, the genuine heart

How could I feel the joy of purging
my bags before they had ever
been packed?

Whatever is next, more of now or
heartbreak later, I am here,
ready,
always,
for love

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

One response to “Day 70 – Ready

Leave a Reply

