Day 79 – Scale – 3- body

Thursday, November 18, 2010
Day 79
10:02 pm

Scale – 3 – body

Please do not
Measure my body
While it stands at the
Mirror stuck
In arguments with
My mind

Look, instead,
Toward the other side
Of the room, where there
Are portions of glass that
Catch my reflection right
After a good sleep,
A good run, good sex, or
A good dance

Catch me while my
Mirror is sitting inside my body,
Not caught swirling in my head

We will avoid having
To step over shards of
Aging bits of skin
And instead be too busy
Running, loving, dancing,
Being
Alive

Scale – 3 – body, city

To spread our bodies
As wide as this city,

To expand our limbs
Across its every
Lush valley and
Broken headlight,

To let the holes become
Windows
And have the champions
Burn their autographs,

We may then come
Upon a view of how
This city stretches,
Allowing it to dance

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a comment