Day 80 – Scale – 4 – soul

Friday, November 19, 2010
Day 80
7:24 pm

Scale – 4 – soul

Jodo Shinshu Buddhists say there is
no
Soul

What then, might we find as sufficient
to describe what it is our fist clings to
in our sharpest moments of
Knowing

Is it our center, our
Chi?

I sometimes grasp at nothing, wishing
for the presence of knowing my truest
self, thinking I will find it in tangible places,
like the first bite of a blood orange or the
smell of homegrown roses, that it will appear
out of nowhere into existing, suddenly, before
my very eyes, giving me a nod on which
way I’m pointing my toe

Then it appears, in the fullest moments, those
emptied of their meaning

They stand at ease, breathing,
consciously or not, like a child rolling
her eyes at my silliness

Or my love, offering me actions
and not the long letters I once
came to wish for

I am, at worst, with so much too
say, and at best,
speechless

Scale – soul, city

There are many who
Like to say Los Angeles
Has wings carrying no
Soul

Or so I gather from
What is attached to
Meaningless chatter
Spewing

Out of fools who have
Never had the guts or
The chance to wear this
City

As their home

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

