Day 100 – Scale – 24 – identity

Thursday, December 9, 2010
Day 100
11:47 pm

Scale – 24 – identity

1.

When I was barely a blip in my mother’s tummy,
the World came and tapped me on my shoulder

It told me life was about choices and handed me
a pamphlet with dozens of boxes in every color

World instructed me to choose a box for each
section of my self…my theatre, my library, my

hallway, my maps, my diners, my shoulders, my
pillows, my swing set, my classroom, my bed

This didn’t feel right, so when it said to choose one
for my heart, well, that was just the last straw

I stopped talking to World until I could consult
with my oldest grandmother, who was wiser than

her years on the planet and she told me all i needed
to do was grow patience and a long pair of arms,

to live life long enough to know more than the two
blocks around me and be able, someday, to look

the World straight in its face
and take it all on as my own

My stage, my bookshelves, my playground, my
restaurants, my bedroom and especially my heart

I do love the idea, but admittedly have not completed
the journey to wrap my self around every single one

The barefoot sage is still tugging on my arms,
trying to make them stretch to fit around the World

2.

We are the bare stage
the world tries to dress

Hardly a nursery blueprint
when we are instructed to

choose one plot, one set
of costumes, one script,

for that matter, to show as
our face to the audience

But we know how awfully
dumb and boring that is

Why choose the thrust versus
the proscenium, the black

box versus the amphitheatre,
avante garde against opera,

Why choose any one thing
except the strike, yes, the

strike! The tearing down of
everything, save ourselves,

if, and only if, we choose to
measure our life’s theatre

by how much we see the
world as our self?

3.

you will not see me
until you see
me
in you

and vice versa

so who lays down
their gun
first?

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

