Day 128 – Wasteland; to fear illness

Thursday, January 6, 2011
Day 128
2:10 pm

Wasteland

I wish for the water without the
Cup, the coffee sans the sleeve

I wish to show up with my own
Containers, no containers, just
My mouth

And have my belly hold only
What it can use, not what my
Eyes behold

I want everything, sometimes,
My body is ravenous for
Everything, for simultaneous
Filling, to feel the filling and the
Sweet passing through, the lustful
Journey through the tasting

But once-in-a-while
Might become
The norm if I am to
Speak of saving my spot
In this world, more than
Speaking, moving through with
It in mind, not just the mind, nor
Even the heart, but fully,
Through the limbs that pick
And hold coins and wave pens
And wrangle hair

Or let this world go
Let this world drip through
My fingers, pour from my hands

tkk

to fear illness

The lady’s face is talking
to her again

I saw her yesterday
and it started talking to me

We had a good conversation
behind the woman’s back

-she likes speaking of my
presence just before she leaves
me completely alone-

Why? I asked
Why does she do that?

-she has a plan-

What? I begged
What could it be?

And then it hit me!
I know!

She wants the skin above her
eye to create a harness and
A rope

She, her whole body,
Wants to come out of the
Socket of her eye, to straddle
The rope and press down,
Down, down

She wants to land at the
Bottom and look up,
Not down,
At her drooping skin!

Only at the bottom,
Bottom, bottom!

-yes.-

-and only then.-

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

One response to “Day 128 – Wasteland; to fear illness

Leave a Reply

