Day 148 – Clint Pereira

Wednesday, January 26, 2011
Day 148
5:12 pm

Clint Pereira

you can’t much get around
the memory of meeting someone
who makes it a point, not for you
or because anyone else is around
to care or notice, but makes it a
point for himself only, to
stop,
literally stop along the rushing path,
making you stop, so he can introduce
himself with a firm handshake, a direct
gaze from his eye to yours and no
feet moving,
not his, not yours

he must be a man of constant thought,
one might wonder, to need to have a
nano-second conversation with self
to ring the bell of pause for a
sincere exchange,
or at least the hope for one

perhaps a realist, a romantic or a
stand-up comic, one might guess
he is in search of something
actual, lovely or fodder for lore

whatever the case, he
shook my hand, looked me in the
eye and offered a bit of his voice
then moved on quickly but in
some way, I am still there, looking
to where he left me standing

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

3 responses to “Day 148 – Clint Pereira

  • awesomepie

    Ouch. I don’t know why, but this one hurt. I can relate to this one, so I guess you wrote me true. Sometimes I think it would be better to be more perceptive of the people around me like you are rather than being trapped in my head.

    Thanks, Traci

    • traciakemi

      Ha HA! Ouch? Really?
      This may sound cruel, but that makes me smile 🙂
      And perceptiveness versus feeling trapped?
      Well, i LOVED being handed a muse in the frame of Clint Pereira.
      It’s like a breath of fresh air…
      You’re a fun one to observe and to observe is something that helps
      me get out of the spinning in my head (‘cuz i know whatcha mean).

  • awesomepie

    Yeah. Of course you know what I mean by being in your own head (I think pretty much everyone is trapped in their own mechanisms). I don’t know what I was talking about. I think it was a mixture of reading yours and Libertad’s posts (and some tequila) that may have hit a chord and bummed me out. But I enjoyed the poem wholeheartedly. It’s print-out-and-tape-on-my-desk-worthy. Or maybe I shouldn’t. Got to watch the ego, I suppose 😛

Leave a Reply

