Day 152 – tidbit tickle picnic

Sunday, January 30, 2011
Day 152
2:58 pm

tidbit tickle picnic

A bit of a nibble off my ear, a
tiny wobble of your heart at
the side of my arm, a small
poem stacked on top of a day’s
worth of books with just enough
room for two underneath the
persimmon apple pomelo tree

It’s there, sitting next to my
seat, your words dancing like
dew-dropped revolutionary
melodies, we’ll keep up with
the post in between midday
debates and kitty cat naps, a
rainy day does not ask us for
much else

Only better for how the world
communicates with each other,
country to citizen, father to son,
you to me, let us keep the wire
warm but rest our thumbs and
cables next to the blanket, for
just a while, while we decipher
the radio wave wars from the
clouds

Come take a bite of the basket
I’ve prepared, give me an update
on the madness and listen to
me scream, I’ll catch your gaze
before it glosses over with the
overwhelming news we weigh
on this and every single day,

Come sit and slow me down,
make offers to read me to sleep
and promise to wake me only
when the world has settled
a tidbit closer to the warm
dream-drizzle-loving ground

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

