Day 154 – survival – 1; (WCC Day 1)

Tuesday, February 1, 2011
Day 154 ( / WCC Day 1)
7:15 pm

survival – 1

it started when I was very young

I paid attention to her accusations
and soon enough they became
my language

I didn’t trust you much

so I didn’t trust much
about anyone

if that is the nature of
mothers and fathers,
parents and daughters,

then all the nonsense
we kept lying around
the house

makes perfect sense
now


tkk

WCC Day 1 – Week 1: Freedom & Nurturing
for the Women’s Creative Collective Writers’ Workshop

1. Folly

i fell out of bed one morning
on my way to a new day at
J.H. Hull Middle School

right through the floor, ended
up directly in 8:00 a.m. getting
ready for P.E.

shorts too loose from old
elastic and no ass on top
of string bean legs

wildly windy mornings,
heather gray jersey wafted
like wings atop my thighs

there i was hiding near my
locker, slipping on my name
to fresher upperclassmen,

they seemed to like it
better when i flattened and
unrolled my tongue

just like they cheered when
my underwear started shouting
through the bottom of my shorts

if cool people were odd but
self-assured, at least they knew
well what made them laugh

mistakes became rituals
in those days, school became
a place to relish in fraud

every day like the next,
slipping out of bed, falling
into the holes of my shadow

tkk


(Day 1 for Women’s Creative Collective session)

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

