Day 160 – survival – power; (WCC – Day 7)

Monday, February 7, 2011
Day 160
10:10 pm

survival – power

Keep the ravens perched upon
The heaps of power we have as
Kids in our backyards, tripping to
Saturn at a moments notice for a
Conference with Yoda while we
Contemplate our last training
Session

We’re far better equipped to
Entertain eagerness in the state
Of mind of beings ready for the
Literal figurative of everything

tkk

WCC Day 7 – Week 2: Language is a Place of Struggle, letters
for the Women’s Creative Collective Writers’ Workshop

Dear First Name,

Yes, it’s been unabashedly warm here – it feels like California is
practically mocking the rest of the country with this warmth.

But let’s get down to business. How come, after all these years,
we still don’t get along? Not completely, anyway. Sometimes
you roll off my tongue and it feels right when introducing you.
Then, sometimes people address me with you and it feels
too formal, too unlike…me.

It’s not necessarily like Last Name and the way we fought when
I was in 7th grade. I take full responsibility for mistreating her
and saying she was what she wasn’t. I simply went through a
bout of self-hatred and rolling the “r” in Kiriyama felt weird and
even unsafe. You have to remember I was sitting next to
classmates whose parents drove around Chevys and Fords
with bumper stickers in the fashion of a burning Japanese flag
uncovering “Buy American” over stars ‘n stripes. I finally got
over it, nonetheless, by telling off the big blond dude after one
too many times of commenting on my eyes and “Jap” this and
that. So, me and “Kiriyama” not only made peace, we’re in a
good way with each other.

But, Traci…I’m just not sure where we stand with each other.

I feel like I’m too far into life at this point to entertain a different
first name. So don’t worry, I’m with you. I just wanted to be
honest – sometimes we feel so far apart.

Please help me out here. I hope you’re at least okay with me
liking the way it sounds when I cut you in half. No harm, no
foul?

love,

tra

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

