Day 168 – survival – backyard 3; (WCC – Day 15)

Tuesday, February 15, 2011
Day 168
11:30 am; 4:28 pm

survival – backyard – 3

3.

The backyard of my childhood
ran the streets with possibility

Like that day when lemons
cross-pollinated with ignorance

The blonde teen spat straight
into my face while he passed by
on his high horse of two wheels
and a racist whim

He had good aim, but I had the
world in my right hand and the
galaxy in my left and I didn’t like
residue of acidic words making
stains of my clothes

So I hurled back to remind him that
hatred is a boomerang

At least in my corner of the lot, at
least on that particular day

When I felt like I was honoring
my history if not my domain

tkk

WCC Day 15 – Week 3: The Moon’s Influence…Dreams, Cycles, Senses
for the Women’s Creative Collective Writers’ Workshop

Moonbeams

Our beloved moons

They are not reflecting
The madness from here, from
Down
Below,
On
Earth

They are sending us messages,
To the towns, the villages,
To all governing bodies

Lessons on why the planets and
The stars and the Moon do not
Float but how they are still,
Adjusting their breath in
Relation to
Down
Below,
Down
Below

Saturn had to steer me back
When I leapt toward the
Sight of
Two shooting stars!

Two buttons down below
Make everyone
Nervous

No one trusts the humans,
She
Told me,
Take a minute before
You react to anything
That comes in pairs!

They told me this

They told me this!

There was no going back
To cover the beams or fall asleep
In what we label dreams to
Wish away
The changes of
Earth
From being real

So I woke up again and
Sent a message to the
Moon
With no return

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

