Day 169 – survival – lemons; (WCC – Day 16)

Wednesday, February 16, 2011
Day 169
4:44 pm

survival – lemons

Let’s be honest

For every lemon that makes it
To my kitchen
I have killed dozens more

I pat and stick and cajole
The soil
But forget to water
The roots

I pick one
Drop one
Pick one
Drop one

The other night I heard a
Shadow knock on my door

The first thought I had was
It must be the ghost of my
Father, coming to scold me
About killing his old lemon
Tree

I picked one up
To squeeze juice in my
Eye to repent

Could’ve sworn i heard
Him say,
Don’t be stupid

And I dropped one yet
Again

tkk

WCC Day 16 – Week 3: The Moon’s Influence…Dreams, Cycles, Senses

Moon Ghosts

It hasn’t happened in a long while,
but it did often enough years ago

A brush of some ghost who
poked my arm and painted the wall
with her quick, tricky dances

Ignoring her was a clear invitation
to come sit on my chest and
turn my breath into cloth with which
she would win at tug-of-war

A clairaudient named Tanya instructed
me to face her,

Not with swords and armor, but
to -somehow- lose my trembling voice
and address her directly, so I did,

Trembling, nonetheless,
I am not afraid of you but you must
go away
I will not allow your darkness to
come and take my light

I figured it wouldn’t work, but that
particular shadow never did come
back

And thank goodness, I’d have nothing
else for her if she did

Only to choke her back or
meet her at my door and splatter
my shadow across the wall, but,
true, it would have made a big
mess

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

3 responses to “Day 169 – survival – lemons; (WCC – Day 16)

Leave a Reply

