Day 170 – survival – impressions; (WCC – Day 17)

Thursday, February 17, 2011
Day 170
10:25 am; 11:14 pm

survival – impressions

shall we?

together?

now?

make some kind of spare melody
to speak of our newness and curiosity
with each other?

nodding our heads to the honor that we
barely know each other but how we smile
nonetheless, now is when a song makes

the most sense

to exist in movement

between us

and be a buffer for more
definite exchanges
that are sure to come later

when you might think you
know me or when i might
think more or less of you

for now let’s just reach for

each other through notes and

agree a simple song feels good

tkk

Day 17 – Week 3: The Moon’s Influence…Dreams, Cycles, Senses

Mooncare

I had a flash forward this
Morning into a time when
All healthcare is privatized
And everyone is working
Off of commissions

The lady helping me today
Was quick and convincing,
Of course the perfect sales
Woman, there to help me
Help her

We were there for Greg’s
Appointment and brought
Along our cat for kicks

Ollie turned into a kitten
And the lady handling the
Intake insisted that Ollie
Had fleas and needed to
Stay for treatment

Then she looked at me, I
Looked at her, she looked
At me and started writing
Down notes on a sales
Receipt

You need help,
She said

What kind of help?,
I asked,

And I started looking around
On my body for fleas

I can tell,
She said,
You haven’t gotten an
Annual in a long time

Look at your face, you
Need tests, all the tests

(ALL
The tests?)

Yes, all the tests

Before I knew it she slid
A bill across the counter for
$299.30
And they wanted cash

The dream ended right there

Probably because something
Felt wrong and I knew she
Was right

But I don’t have a doctor
Or the cash equivalent of
$299

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

