Day 178 – survival – kits 2; the little one (WCC – Day 25)

Friday, February 25, 2011
Day 178
8:00 pm

survival – kits 2

give me an Ollie,
make that an Ollie
who never loses
his feistiness or his
desire to climb the
tree every day over
my morning coffee
or the way he claws
the kitchen screen
to enter the house
or any part of his
love for routine

give me a Peanut
make that a Peanut
who definitely knows
he’s not second, who
knows he is just fine
the way he is no
matter how much
the humans think he
doesn’t always know
what’s going on, who,
if he lacks anything,
only lacks the ability
to understand what
people say

give me a Kitti
make that a Kitti
who returns to life
inside my home every
morning, who for every
morning for the rest of
my life wakes up with
me in my bed unlike
all those years I didn’t
let him in because of
some partner’s allergies,
screw the partner’s
allergies for the rest
of life and never let
Kitti wake up alone
ever again

tkk

WCC Day 25 – Week 4: Everything under the Rainbow
final week for the Women’s Creative Collective Writers’ Workshop

the little one

the little moon fairy
wakes up once a month
to ask me what else could
I be preparing my body for
if not for a child to teach
me something new

lately, all I can say is,
look, I never imagined
I’d be 37 and still not sure

so you can love me with
your monthly reminders,
or else let me alone

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

