Day 185 – in the quiet

Friday, March 4, 2011
Day 185
10:01 pm

in the quiet

Can I listen for silence,
Can I thrive from nothing,
Can I make myself smile,
Can I breathe out of turn,
Can I believe this is enough,
Can I stretch for more,
Can I sit still longer,
Can I speak evenly,
Alone
In the quiet?

Can I imagine a dream where
I hold myself with gratitude
And stay there a long, long while
Alone
In the quiet?

Can I speak better of yesterday,
Can I ask less of simplicity,
Can I yell at myself with grace,
Can I stop the spinning in my head,
Can I laugh without wicked tears,
Can I stay like this for years
Here
Alone
In the quiet?

I want to hear nothing whisper
I want to see the song sing itself
I want to want this more
I want to break my self out loud
I want to argue less with time
Here
Alone
In the quiet

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

