Day 208 – the voyeur virus

Sunday, March 27, 2011
Day 208
10:15 am

the voyeur virus

My eyes are glued to a clip on
Youtube that I’ve never watched

She told me about it the other day,
“Have you been watching all the
tsunami videos? I can’t stop
looking at them.”

Over and over, between bathroom
breaks and real now life,

“There were some crazy ones they
had to take down. There was this
old couple…”

Suddenly I am a junkie at the
Youtube Candy Store, opening jars
that release video streams of
Earthquake Jawbreakers, Tsunami
Pop Rocks and Radiation Vines

The store is an orchestra of metal
lids clanging on gargantuan glass
jars, customers like me, opening
and closing, opening and closing
their sanity inside the chaos

Bouncing off of themselves and
each other from the voyeur rush

Footage edited and posted by
messy hands who couldn’t bear
to be the only ones holding the
camera, releasing it along with
their conscience

Tags lead me to more insidious
matter – viral vials of Aftermath
Fiend Dip, you scoop out remains
and suck on the shovel, I lick and
sniff it to see what bones smell like

All of this and I don’t even have
my computer turned on
I am my own worst nightmare, on loop

I keep running up the hill with that
old couple, shouting at them,
“Hai ya kuuuu!”

In another version, I leap for one of
them, grasping at an arm, but I
grab too hard and look back to feel
a skinny hand attached to nothing

In the last version, we, all of us,
every customer from that Candy
Store, surround the couple, climbing
the mountain our eyes on nothing
but our video cameras,

We finally jump to them only to get
two feet up the hill before getting
sucked back, our legs are boulders
and we’re wearing the wrong shoes

Every version ends with me
shoving the computer down my
throat, swallowing invisible
images, vanishing as they
consume me

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

