Day 236 – cantebury cockroach coop

Sunday, April 24, 2011
Day 236
12:30 pm

cantebury cockroach coop

A three-inch cockroach
parasailed by its own wings
next to the feet of my friend
in a cafe we were busy
settling into

Slam it!
Step on it!
Crush it with your shoe!
she cried

The barista yelled out
her offer of running
to get the roach killer,
my friend screamed,
Yes!!

All the while the cockroach
is in a scramble,
obviously confused and
totally aware of the looming
threat of these madwomen
he’s surrounded by

Suddenly
my body is propelled
to action, a big letter
“C”
appears on my tank top
and I am the only apparent
defender of the little
crunchy guy

I stamp my feet behind him,
guiding him toward the
front door,
C’mon, make a run for it,
Cockaroachie!
No, this way,
Go! Go! Go!

He escapes!
Yes!

He comes back in,
No!

My friend keeps shrieking,
Kill it! Kill it!
The barista is ready
with her spray can

I stamp and run and
Guide again,
Go! Go! Go!

We repeat this twice
and I beg the cockroach,
You can fly, then you can learn!
Learn! Learn! Learn!

He finally leaves, for good.

We sit back down with
our food that’s arrived

I consider this order
of chicken pesto fusilli
and see my nobility
diced into chunks in the
big bowl below me

Were I at the farm,
would I open the gates
of the coop and
herd the chickens to
safety?
Go! Go! Go!
Fly! Learn! Go!
and whisk them away from
the harm of my
appetite? Likely, yes.

But
I am never at the chicken farm.

I am at the market, figuring out
how much breast meat
versus the price per pound
will end up in my pot of curry

So who is worse?
The panicked lady with the
can of Raid
or
The malevolent softie who blows
a kiss to the roach with one
hand and wrings the neck
of a chicken with the
other?

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

