Day 284 – E – 19 – rewrite

Saturday, June 11, 2011
Day 284
10:19 am; 1:19 pm

E – 19 – rewrite

Excavation

19. leaving
.

.
In my backyard there are two
paths that start on either side
of a patch of grass, both ending
up at its arc, where the persimmon
tree reigns

There is only one path, then, with
two separate beginnings

My cat insists on traveling to the
persimmon tree via the path that
begins at the north side, where the
oleander stands about face, advancing
on the birds

This helps me to focus on something
besides the whimpering weeds

This was once my parents’ backyard,
with remnants of their successes
despite the damage done at the
hands of their neglectful and much
less skilled daughter

They grew up on farms and gardens,
I played on carpet and concrete

I have spent weeks musing on
whether and how to dig the bones of
story, to take a shovel to secrets,
as I look ahead to tell a tale of my
parents’ apparent past

Today I decided to start towards the
persimmon tree from the south side of
the yard just to see if little Ollie
might follow me, if anything would
change in our pattern

He, as stubborn as his routine, went
about his usual way

In nature, there is no seeing the
roots for what they are, for they are
ever-changing, they are old but adjust
to the context of chaos that lives
on around them

This morning I became the north side,
the south side, the pebbles and the
tree at the zenith of the arc, greeting
birds at my highest branches, breathing
in dew at my feet

It is not a story of father nor of mother,
it is a path to find me

Somehow, I shall travel to all, to each and
everything in between

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a Reply

