Day 291 – for another F Day

Saturday, June 18, 2011
Day 291
9:42 pm

(tanka) for a Father’s Day

it’s no big deal
just another holiday
but it would be nice
you could hear me sing Elvis
or smile at some dumb card

Or another for F Day

Like each email announcement
of some stupid sale doesn’t
come to freeze my wrists

Like I don’t dole out
automatic sideways glances,
aloof and nonchalant,
as I quickly delete them all

Like I don’t tell myself
it’s just another day

It’s not
like
I can’t block it out

I don’t want
to
have to

I don’t even
want
to
try

tkk

About traciakemi

traci akemi kato-kiriyama - inter/multi-disciplinary theatre/performance artist, arts educator, cultural worker, community organizer. Tuesday Night Project; theatre, performance, writing, and teaching projects with many organizations and artists including: zero 3; Edge of The World for Asian Arts Initiative in Philadelphia and the National Asian American Theatre Festival in New York; "PULL" with Kennedy Kabasares in San Francisco; Nobuko Miyamoto and Great Leap Collaboratory I; TeAda; NCRR; Oymun's 11. Playwright for "Chasing Dad - a performance of a reading about a play i'm writing" presented by Inside the Ford for the Ford's Summer Playwright series. View all posts by traciakemi

Leave a comment